The Dirty Guv'nahs

The Dirty Guv'nahs

Somewhere Beneath These Southern Skies

American roots rock band, The Dirty Guv’nahs, have just released their latest album, Somewhere Beneath These Southern Skies. Having attended the release party that took place in Knoxville, Tennessee in Market Square along with Moon Taxi and The Black Cadillacs, there is no doubt in my mind that this band is onto bigger and greater things. The Knoxville-based band has been voted Best Band in Knoxville every year since 2008 and has played Bonnaroo twice. 

This six-piece band formed through a mutual friend nicknamed “The Guv’nah.” They began performing in 2006 and releasing their first album in 2009. Their second album, Youth Is In Our Blood, released in 2010, brought about their hit songs, “We’ll Be The Light,” “Wide Awake” and “Baby We Were Young.” The album, with its similarities to southern rock band The Black Crowes, got them a slot opening for the Zac Brown Band and Grace Potter and the Nocturnals. 

When listening to their music lead singer, James Trimble, is sure to leave a lasting impression in your ears with his soulful, almost bluesy, voice that differentiates the Guv’nahs from the average southern rock band. His stage presence always reads off light and joyfulness as he dances and catapults his body across the stage with the swing of his arms or the rock of his head.

In short, they are not just a band, but a true show. Among the other members are Justin Hoskins (bass guitar), Aaron Hoskins (drums), Chris Doody (piano, vocals), Cosmo Holloway (guitar, vocals) and Michael Jenkins (guitar). Don’t waste another minute, click the link below and listen to one of their songs!